- Books

Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit #2020

Sonic Boom the History of Northwest Rock from Louie Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit The compelling saga of how one backwater music scene could produce such disparate mega talents as the Ventures Jimi Hendrix Heart Robert Cray Queensryche Sir Mix a Lot Nirvana and the legendary

  • Title: Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit
  • Author: Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company
  • ISBN: 9780879309466
  • Page: 309
  • Format: Paperback
  • Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit By Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company, The compelling saga of how one backwater music scene could produce such disparate mega talents as the Ventures, Jimi Hendrix, Heart, Robert Cray, Queensryche, Sir Mix a Lot, Nirvana, and the legendary garage stompers, the Sonics.
    Sonic the Hedgehog Sonic Boom Sonic News Network Fandom Sonic Boom The Ringer Sonic Boom Introducing Sonic Boom How Seattle Lost Its Team Sonic Boom tells a story of basketball and politics, wealth and power revealing new truths about the NBA s greatest heist The Sonic Boom How Sound Transforms the Way We Think Whether or not you consider yourself a sound music person, a visual person, or don t think in those definitions, The Sonic Boom is a fascinating look at sounds in our lives The Sonic Boom is about how sound affects people s mood and perception of atmosphere, and how sounds can evoke emotions and create brand loyalty. Sonic Boom Sonic Boom Season YouTube Mar , Sonic, Tails, Amy, Knuckles, and Sticks reside on Seaside Island in Hedgehog Village Together they defend the island from various threats like Doctor Eggman and his robotic creations. Sonic Boom Play Game Online ArcadeSpot Sonic Boom is a high quality game that works in all major modern web browsers This online game is part of the Arcade, Retro, Emulator, and SEGA gaming categories Sonic Boom has likes from user ratings If you enjoy this game then also play games Sonic Mania Edition and Sonic Advance . Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric TV Commercial YouTube Nov , Sonic Boom Shattered Crystal and Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric will be in stores in North America on November , Both games will be in stores in Europe on November , Pre order now at

    • [KINDLE] ✓ Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit | By ↠ Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company
      309 Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company
    • thumbnail Title: [KINDLE] ✓ Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit | By ↠ Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company
      Posted by:Peter Blecha Hal Leonard Publishing Company
      Published :2019-09-14T18:01:57+00:00

    1 thought on “Sonic Boom! the History of Northwest Rock, from Louie, Louie to Smells Like Teen Spirit

    1. It s a good read, and it unearths a lot of forgotten and little known bits of music history It isn t as well edited as it could be There are quite a few grammatical errors that make you check yourself Mostly, I d love to see an updated version to see where the scene went It ends abruptly at Cobain s death with only a little mention of years beyond.

    2. This is a wonderful book Fans of The Sonics, The Wailers and Northwest music in general will be thrilled with the depth of knowledge and miles of information Blecha brings to the table Covering the music of the Pacific Northwest from the 40 s to today, Sonic Boom is an extremely well researched font of information about the bands, musicians and sound that has defined the region for decades The sound has changed and mutated over the decades but the raw, visceral, tribal stomp of Northwest rock mu [...]

    3. Peter Blecha or Backbeat Books should have put the Sonics, with perhaps a small of inset of Pat O Day, on the front cover However, I realize they need to sell the book in 2010 and beyond hence the Mudhoney photo I didn t realize the huge impact some say stranglehold that Pat O Day had on Pacific Northwest Rock n Roll in the 60 s Also, amazing that he reappeared during the punk power pop new wave movement of the late 70 s The chapters about O Day s rival Boyd Grafmyer and his merry hippies comes [...]

    4. A decent look at the history of Seattle Northwest music, from WAAAAAAAY before Nirvana broke out Yes, we had a music scene before then I say it s decent because there s SO much to cover, you can tell a lot had to be left out to make this a normal sized book But for the most part, Blecha got the important stuff, with plenty of juicy parts thrown in.My one problem is that there seemed to be a lot of issues with grammar, punctuation, sentence structure including repeating words all that nitpicky st [...]

    5. This book was a surprisingly fascinating and quick read I read it as background research for an exhibit I m working on and found it enlightening, particularly how Blecha documents the musical scenes in 1950s and 1960s Seattle I did feel that his writing style could at times be a little too conversational and informal, though It made me wonder if I was really reading something that was well researched and documented, or the ramblings of a rabid fan At the same time, I m sure Blecha s tone was wha [...]

    6. Very interesting history of the Pacific Northwest music scene by a local author that knows his stuff Blecha s specialty and main interest, however, seems to be in the region s RB influenced rock music from the late 1950 s and 1960 s The narrative doesn t even move out of the 60 s until chapter 29 out of 36 and the grunge phenomenon is given less than 30 pages of attention That said, there probably isn t a better history of the early Seattle Tacoma Portland Vancouver musical climate than Sonic Bo [...]

    7. I bought this book anticipating it to be mostly about the grunge scene, but boy was I surprised There was only really any mention of the music industry in the Northwest after the 70s in the last chapter of the book So if you re looking for a book about grunge, don t buy this one HOWEVER, I thoroughly enjoyed the book anyway I never knew much about the music scene in the 50s and early 60s, especially in the upper left USA, and found it fascinating Overall, I would recommend it

    8. A lot of information A lot This book is packed with tidbits, but not quite enough heart to really make it interesting I liked reading about the local scene, especially landmarks and clubs, but just didn t grab me.

    9. I wish i could have finished this book I really wanted the information in it, but it is so poorly written I have read other reviews on here and other people seem to really like it, so you should give it a try, but I cant keep going with it.

    10. Very good and quite informative My only beef with it is that anything post 1966 or so seems kind of tacked on I feel like grunge didn t quite get a fair shake.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *