- Books

Larry and the Dog People #2020

Larry and the Dog People Larry MaCabe is a man who needs people than most The problem for Larry is that most people have little need for him Larry MacCabe is a retired academic a widower and until a chance meeting with the

  • Title: Larry and the Dog People
  • Author: J. Paul Henderson
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 419
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Larry and the Dog People By J. Paul Henderson, Larry MaCabe is a man who needs people than most The problem for Larry is that most people have little need for him Larry MacCabe is a retired academic, a widower, and until a chance meeting with the administrator of a care home, also friendless At her suggestion, he adopts a Basset Hound and joins her one Saturday at the local park He becomes a regular visitorLarry MaCabe is a man who needs people than most The problem for Larry is that most people have little need for him.Larry MacCabe is a retired academic, a widower, and until a chance meeting with the administrator of a care home, also friendless At her suggestion, he adopts a Basset Hound and joins her one Saturday at the local park He becomes a regular visitor, and for the first time in his life the member of a gang While his new companions prepare for the annual Blessing of the Animals service on the Feast Day of St Francis, Larry puts the finishing touches to a conference paper he s due to present in Jerusalem and arranges a house sitter Neither the service nor his visit to Israel go to plan, and on his return Larry is charged with conspiring to blow up a church and complicity in the deaths of four people All that stands between him and conviction is a personal injury lawyer and things for Larry aren t looking goodPraise for J Paul Henderson exceptionally good The characters and plot are fantastic and I really couldn t praise it enough Bookseller There is heartbreak humour and some of the charm of The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry Daily Mail A fascinating and poignant novel Woman s WorldFor fans of Rachel Joyce and Jonas Jonasson

    • DOWNLOAD BOOK ¶ Larry and the Dog People - by J. Paul Henderson
      J. Paul Henderson

    1 thought on “Larry and the Dog People

    1. How does a socially awkward, lonely widower end up in jail charged with conspiracy to blow up a church and the killing of 4 people I ve had the pleasure of finding out whilst reading this book, and it has been one of those books that has been a delight to discover I was intrigued by the blurb and the publishers, No Exit Press, kindly sent me an ARC as it sounded right up my street And it was With touches of A Man Called Ove we are introduced to the character of Larry who is desperately alone sin [...]

    2. Larry and the Dog People is about Larry MacCabe and how Larry coped with retirement After retirement from his university position, Larry MacCabe realises he was lonely and administrator of nursing home told him to get a dog for company Larry MacCabe adopts a Basset Hound Moses However, Larry MacCabe life changed after Moses came into is life The readers of Larry and The Dog People will follow Larry MacCabe to see how his life changed.Larry and the Dog People in parts an amusing and another sad b [...]

    3. I found this book very funny and loved the characters An amusing and poignant story that is well worth reading If you are an dog lover you will enjoy it even ,

    4. I really enjoyed this book It was a spur of the moment choice at the library and I ve not been able to put it down It isn t my usual genre of book but I really enjoyed the quirk characters and the continued humorous misfortune of the main character I would recommend this to some one as a light hearted read

    5. This was a book that is quite hard to define in terms of which genre it falls in to but not a hard book to define in terms of how much I enjoyed it There s a lovely narrative voice which captures Larry s personality effortlessly His character is well established with the prose reflecting his endless chatter, inadvertent humour and I was entertained by his adventures.The opening had some likeness to A Man Called Ove or Harold Fry except there is nothing cantankerous about Larry, he loves people, [...]

    6. Apparently I did not fully read the book s synopsis because I was startled by the church explosion Guess I was interested in the book the minute I found out some old guy got a dog Dog me wanting to read the book So wasn t it a wonderful surprise to find myself reading a funny little story about a retired man, Larry, who reminded me of Professor Slughorn from Harry Potter and the interesting people he meets after getting a dog The poor guy is so smart and has so much great knowledge to share with [...]

    7. Since losing his wife, Larry, a retired professor, has been lonely Thus, he decides to get a dog and begins frequenting the local dog park, where he meets a mixed bag of people, the dog people They are fascinating and have fascinating stories, while bonding during the time they spend with their dogs About this time, Larry leaves for Israel, where he is to present a scholarly paper However, things do not go as planned for Larry and, upon return he is charged with conspiracy to blow up a church an [...]

    8. I really liked the writing and humor throughout this book I found it to be very enjoyable however, I gave it a 4 because it does become dark near the end and I personally wasn t prepared for it I have added this author on my to watch list as I intend to read from him.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *