- Books

Broken Mirror #2020

Broken Mirror Someone killed Granfa Jefferson Victor is sure of it But he s the only one Diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome and shunned by Semiautonomous California society Victor suffers from blank outs ha

  • Title: Broken Mirror
  • Author: Cody Sisco
  • ISBN: 9780997034820
  • Page: 467
  • Format: Paperback
  • Broken Mirror By Cody Sisco, Someone killed Granfa Jefferson Victor is sure of it But he s the only one.Diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome and shunned by Semiautonomous California society, Victor suffers from blank outs, hallucinations, and vivid nightmares He violently overreacts to even minor confrontations Victor s grandfather devoted his life to researching and curing Broken Mirrors, bSomeone killed Granfa Jefferson Victor is sure of it But he s the only one.Diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome and shunned by Semiautonomous California society, Victor suffers from blank outs, hallucinations, and vivid nightmares He violently overreacts to even minor confrontations Victor s grandfather devoted his life to researching and curing Broken Mirrors, but now that he s gone, Victor must walk a narrow path between sanity and reclassification a fate that all but guarantees he ll lose his freedom.Victor is determined to uncover the truth about his grandfather s death and grows increasingly suspicious of the medicine he must take to help manage his symptoms As he tries to sort his allies from his enemies, a conspiracy with global implications emerges Can he trust his Aunt Circe, the only person in his family who s even somewhat sympathetic to his plight His former classmate turned brainhacker Ozie, who wields information as damaging as any weapon and who seems intent on luring Victor away from his home What about his old friend Elena, who reappears in his life abruptly, claiming to have miraculously overcome a devastating addiction With its self driving cars, global firearms ban, and a cure for cancer, the world of Broken Mirror may sound utopic, but history has taken a few wrong turns The American Union is a weak and fractious alliance of nations in decline Europe, a superpower, manipulates its citizens through technology And Asia is reeling from decades of war Amid shifting geopolitical sands, Broken Mirrors like Victor find themselves at a crossroads evolve or go extinct.Broken Mirror is the first novel in a sci fi detective saga tailor made for fans of Isaac Asimov, Haruki Murakami, and Neal Stephenson.

    • BEST AZW "✓ Broken Mirror" || READ (Zip) ↠
      467 Cody Sisco
    • thumbnail Title: BEST AZW "✓ Broken Mirror" || READ (Zip) ↠
      Posted by:Cody Sisco
      Published :2019-011-19T14:25:54+00:00

    1 thought on “Broken Mirror

    1. 3.5 StarsFull Review I received an ecopy of this book via NetGalley This has not influenced my review I m new to the cyberpunk genre, but I ve been wanting to give it of a try, and this one sounded good Unfortunately, although the book was well written, I struggled to really get into it.So, this book was a cyberpunk alternate history mash up set in the early 90s in a different version of the U.S with a kind of bleak feel That was pretty neat, but, because the world was so different, there was A [...]

    2. 2017 continues to be the year of outstanding sci fi novels i am honest to gosh Deceased i know i say this after like every book but i mean it this time, i m literally dead murdered by cody sisco i don t know what the hell i was expecting, but it sure wasn t this i mean, not to generalise, but when you download one of those auto approval thingys from netgalley, you aren t expecting a masterpiece, are you but that s what i got a fucking masterpiece the worldbuilding was extremely good and well dev [...]

    3. A special thank you goes out to Netgalley and Cody Sisco for allowing me to read this early All thoughts and opinions are my own Buckle up, kids, because this is a long review racist comments challenged slurs used at those with mental illness sometimes challenged This book was something else and I mean that in a good way it had a lot of information in it and I felt like it was trying to take a lot of different stances Which is good but I think it tried to do too much It tried to end several stig [...]

    4. Disclaimer I m a neurotypical person reviewing a book about a person with a mental illness although this mental illness is made up I didn t like this book for a number of reasons, but I don t have personal experience with a mental illness or disability so I m perhaps not the best source.PlotIn a dystopian future California, Victor is a boy from a rich family whose grandfather is researching a cure to the mental illness of mirror resonance syndrome, an illness Victor happens to have with side eff [...]

    5. Thank you to Netgalley for providing me an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review.DNF at 20%Okay so this is very much a it s not you, it s me scenario I really wanted to like this Broken Mirror, it has so much promise and I loved Victor It was just so very sciencey, I ve never been very good at science, and so everything went over my head and I couldn t understand half the things anyone was saying This is probably a great book, it just wasn t for me.

    6. broken mirror by Cody sisco Someone killed Granfa Jefferson Victor is sure of it But he s the only one.Diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome and shunned by Semiautonomous California society, Victor suffers from blank outs, hallucinations, and vivid nightmares He violently overreacts to even minor confrontations Victor s grandfather devoted his life to researching and curing Broken Mirrors, but now that he s gone, Victor must walk a narrow path between sanity and reclassification a fate that a [...]

    7. Thanks to Netgalley for making this available I didn t see the blurb which was a bit in depth as I didn t know it was alternative history and cyberpunk neither of which are my genres I might have skipped it had I known That said, I did like it and if I were of a fan of those genres I might have really loved it In this alternative history, the Civil War ended with the death of Mrs Lincoln, not Abe and they decided in the rebuilding period that skin color didn t matter we should be so lucky but [...]

    8. First and foremost I want to thank NetGalley, Resonant Earth Publishing and Cody Sisco for allowing me to read an ARC in exchange for an unbiased review This book had a fascinating premise and since it was about neuroscience I was drawn to read it The best thing about the book was the authors ability to project into science fiction while at the same time grounding the reader in enough of today s world to easily follow the plot.I was hooked from the beginning by the plot and by the characters and [...]

    9. I was initially interested in this book because I found it in the LGBT section, but these themes aren t really explored and there s only a couple a throw away sentence with brief mentions of flirting between men Despite the initial disappointment in this respect, I actually really enjoyed the book The book is divided into three parts Part 1 was rather expository and read like the coming of age story of an unreliable narrator, but Parts 2 and 3 were very exciting with unexpected developments aro [...]

    10. Good, gritty fictionI bought this book because an ad said it was like Neal Stephenson It s nothing like Stephenson It s much darkly creative and ultimately much depressing The characters are compelling and there s a lot to think about It was a painful read that took me to places I don t normally think about.

    11. Solid world building and really cool writing style whit the descriptions of synesthesia Slightly episodic and repetitive, but overall really fun to read.

    12. A fantastic read Great characters, a mysterious plot and cool technology kept me flipping pages Highly recommended Broken Mirror is cyberpunk story set in an alternate history where the US exists as several loosely allied territories known as the American Union We are introduced to the world through Victor East, a programmer who suffers from a cognitive disorder called Mirror Resonance Syndrome a type of synesthesia which screws up his perception and mood and stigmatizes him from society, but ma [...]

    13. We begin in an alternate world from our own The United States no long exists it is now the American Union Many things in history have not happened in this world but the basics are technology rules and those that have perception and mood issues are diagnosed with Mirror Resonance Syndrome Victor is one of these people His grandfather has been treating these people but has recently died Now Victor has to figure out who he really is and how he fits into this corrupt world.This is an amazing thrill [...]

    14. By Hamid 6 15 16The United States is now the American Union Semiautonomous California and the Republic of Texas are battlegrounds, one of policy and one of violence In Broken Mirror, Victor East, the protagonist, struggles with Mirror Resonance Syndrome, a disease that is leading to the unfair ostracism of a group of people These are not only the figments of author Cody Sisco s imagination, but also the figments of a parallel reality In a time when literature is a new addition to the long list o [...]

    15. Author Cody Sisco s Broken Mirror is a compelling murder mystery set in a world familiar yet changed by a few historical twists, for example, President Lincoln survives an assassination attempt United America is weak, Europe is a superpower, while Autonomous California and the Republic of Texas are in some ways competing for the future of mankind The protagonist is a genius, yet classified along with many other humans as potentially dangerous because their condition is the same as a mass murdere [...]

    16. I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Broken Mirror is set in alternative world, where historical events as we know, had a different ending There were plenty of nice little hints casually thrown in about what happened differently, that is if you know history.Main character is Victor who is diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome, commonly called broken mirrors I was so confused when I started reading this book, but I kept reading and I discovered that I had hard ti [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *